error image error image error image

History of Lao Cai


Lao Cai is a border province in northwestern Vietnam, 296 km from Hanoi and 345 km from Hanoi. Ha Giang to the east; Son La and Lai Chau provinces in the west; Yen Bai is bordered to the south by Yunnan province (China) with 203 km border line. Today, people are present in Lao Cai.

During the reign of Hung Kings, Lao Cai belonged to Tan Hung, one of the 15 ministries of the Van Lang State - a major political and economic center in the upstream of the Red River. In the reign of Dinh, Ly, Tran, Le, there are many changes in the name of the place ... To the Nguyen Dynasty, the land of Lao Cai mainly belonged to the Vy, Thuy Ban, part of Chieu Tan and one small part of Luc Yen in Quy Hoa. At this time, the name of Lao Cai has not been formed.
Today, there is a market in Lao Cai town, gradually opening a new market. So the first market in the local dialect is called Luo (Old Street). Later, they opened another market called Tan Nhai (New Street today). According to the late Professor Dao Duy Anh, from Lao Nhai was transformed into Lao Cai and was called for quite a long time. When making maps, the French wrote Lao Cai Lao Lao. Lao kay was used by the French in documents and seals. But in communication and folk people are still called Lao Cai. After the liberation of Lao Cai (11-1950), Lao Cai was unified to this day. After the capture of Lao Cai (3 -1886) and the completion of the military pacification, the French colonial administration of Lao Cai county under the military regime. On January 7, 1899, IV soldiers were formed, including the Yen Bai and Lao Cai Sub-units. Lao Cai is the capital, the capital of IV soldiers. In order to control and exploit the exploits, the French colonized the administrative region and changed the regime. On July 12, 1907, the Indochinese government issued a decree abolishing the Lao Cai Commander IV, moving from military regime to civilian rule, and establishing Lao Cai Province. From here, the name of Lao Cai province is determined on the map of Vietnam.
Experiencing the ups and downs of history, Lao Cai's geography has also changed. About administrative places, through several times separated:
- Established civilian province of Lao Cai (July 12, 1907), the land of Europe In the right bank of the Red River merged into Chieu Tan, still named as Thuy Vy. From there Chieu Tan is no longer. The part of the European-style waterfront on the left bank of the Red River is separated into Bao Thang. Lao Cai province is comprised of two coastlines, including Thuy Vy, Bao Thang and agents of Muong Khuong, Phong Tho, Bat Xat, Bac Ha (Pa Kha) and Lao Cai town, including 855 villages, 6,812 households, 39,099 people, with 11 main ethnic groups: Hmong, Dao, Tay, Giay ... in which the H'mong people make up 26.56%, Dao 22.41%, Tay, Giay 20.77%, Kinh 4.52%, Nung 7,33%, Thai 9.25%, Uoi 2,48%, Chinese Overseas 4.44%, the rest are other ethnic groups. - After Lao Cai was liberated for the first time, Lao Cai was divided into 8 districts: Bac Ha, Muong Khuong, Ban Lau, Bao Thang, Sa Pa, Bat Xat, Phong Tho and Lao Cai.
- May 7, 1955, Thai Meo Autonomous Region was established, Phong Tho district of Lao Cai province moved to Thai Meo Autonomous Region, later in Lai Chau province.
- On March 27, 1975, at the second session of the Vth National Assembly, the three provinces of Lao Cai, Yen Bai and Nghia Lo were merged into Hoang Lien Son.
- On April 17, 1979, the Government Council issued a decision to merge Lao Cai and Cam Duong townships into Lao Cai township of Hoang Lien Son province.
- On 12/8/1991, the ninth session of the 8th National Assembly, the Resolution divided Hoang Lien Son province into Yen Bai and Lao Cai provinces.
- On 01/10/1991 Lao Cai was re-established, based on Lao Cai (old) land and added three districts: Bao Yen, Van Ban (former Yen Bai), Than Uyen (belonging to old Nghia Lo ) consists of 8 districts and two towns.
- On June 9, 1992, the Council of Ministers decided to separate Lao Cai town into Lao Cai and Cam Duong towns.
- On 30/12/2000, Bac Ha district was divided into Si Ma Cai and Bac Ha districts.
- On 31 January 2002, the Prime Minister issued the Decree on merger of Lao Cai Town and Cam Duong Town into Lao Cai Town.
- On January 1, 2004, Than Uyen district was separated from Lai Chau province (new).
- On November 30, 2004, the Prime Minister issued Decree No. 195/2004 / ND-CP on the establishment of Lao Cai city in Lao Cai province. A corner of Lao Cai city. Currently, Lao Cai province consists of Lao Cai city and 8 districts: Bao Thang, Bao Yen, Bac Ha, Si Ma Cai, Muong Khuong, Sa Pa, Bat Xat and Van Ban. Natural area of ​​6,383.88 km2. (Source: Lao Cai Party History)